Trauma Survivors Network - provided by ATS

Survive. Connect. Rebuild.

A Program of the ATS

One second desicion changed everything

One second desicion changed everything
by BrokenTruckDriver on Jul 16, 2019, 01:49PM

I have been a professional truck driver for 15 years. Over a million miles accident free. Until June 15th of this year, that day everything changed for me. Its only been 31 days and most of my physical injuries will heal. The emotional one’s those will be the lingering for awhile. It all begins like nearly everbodies day begins a normal day. It had been raining heavily the night before and that morning. Didn’t really bother me cause I have driven through some of the nastiest weather you can imagine. I had just picked up my loaded and started my return trip to do a trailer swap. I was excited cause my time off was coming up in a few days and I was going to get to spend some awesome quality time with my wife and daughters. That actually wasn’t going to be case in the end. Even though my excitement was high I would never allow that to distract me from the most important thing “my surrounding.” Some of the memories have been blocked. Honestly I wish all of them were. It started raining hard and I became proactive and took my truck off cruise control and dropped my speed down below the speed limit just as a precaution. When a car go speeding by me I normally don’t give it a second thought unless they cut me off. I just wave at them and say have a nice day. I had just completed a mirror check and gauge check to make sure that my surroundings where clear and all the truck readings were good. When my eyes refocused on the road is when it happened. The last car that had passed me at unsafe speed due to the weather conditions lost control and started hydroplaning in the lane I was in. In a matter of 1 second I had to weigh my options, figure out the outcomes, make a desicion and execute. The biggest factor in my desicion was are there children in that car. Lef