Trauma Survivors Network - provided by ATS

Survive. Connect. Rebuild.

A Program of the ATS

Erlanger Health System

The Region’s Only Level I Trauma Center

Erlanger provides the highest level of care for critically ill or traumatically injured patients. As the region’s only Level I Trauma Center designated by both Alabama and Tennessee, we are a comprehensive resource for a 63-county service area, as well as the tertiary care facility central to our region’s trauma system. This means Erlanger is ready to provide the most complex and highly specialized trauma care 24/7. Our Trauma Center is a comprehensive care system that includes: 

  • Dedicated shock trauma bays for treatment and stabilization
  • Dedicated trauma operating rooms
  • 12-bed trauma intensive care unit
  • 21-bed ICU step-down unit
  • 17-bed trauma surgical unit
  • Inpatient rehab services
  • Care coordinators
  • Advanced practice critical care nurse clinicians (Red Shirts)
  • Specialized trauma ICU nurses
  • Three designated trauma nurse practitioners
  • Six full-time dedicated trauma/acute care surgeons

High-Level Trauma Care

  • The region’s only trauma and acute care surgeons on duty 24/7 – with round-the-clock coverage for services such as orthopedics, plastics and neurosurgery
  • The region’s only Level I accredited hyperbaric oxygen program for wound therapy
  • The region’s only academic surgery critical care fellowship programs, training tomorrow’s physicians in the latest techniques

975 East 3rd Street, Whitehall Bldg - 520
Chattanooga, Tennessee, 37403

work: 423-778-5620

View all trauma centers