Trauma Survivors Network - provided by ATS

Survive. Connect. Rebuild.

A Program of the ATS

Bones of the skull

The skull is composed of 29 bones and, except for the mandible (jaw bone), these bones are connected by rigid sutures. The neurocranium, which houses the brain, is composed of eight bones including the frontal bone, two parietal bones, an occipital bone, two temporal bones, the sphenoid bone, and the ethmoid bone. Encased within the temporal bones are six tiny bones that make up the ear middle ear. Fourteen bones make up the splanchnocranium, which forms the structures of the face.

See American Medical Association's (AMA) Atlas of the Body:

The Skull