Trauma Survivors Network - provided by ATS

Survive. Connect. Rebuild.

A Program of the ATS

Struggling to Move Forward

Struggling to Move Forward
by Tori777 on Jan 02, 2016, 06:48AM

My accident occured in September last year. I fell from a truck and suffered a compound fracture of my left ankle. I had a broken fibula and shattered tibia. So far I have had 5 operations and spent weeks in and out of hospital. My recovery has been slow because of the type of fracture. A compound or open fracture is when the bone breaks through the skin, so there is a huge risk of infection.

Currently I am at home, but even after all this time I still cannot put any weight on my leg and need to keep it elevated most of the day. I use crutches, a walking frame or a wheelchair to get around. My house is full of adaptive equipment. I need to take long term antibiotics to ward off infection.

What am I struggling with? Where do I start?! It feels almost like a loss of identity. I’m a pre school teacher, but havent been able to work since the accident. I’m a single mum of two teenagers, who now have to act as carers. I suffer a lot of guilt about this. I get frustrated because I can’t do things for myself. The pain from the surgeries and the injury is constant, the antibiotics make me feel sick. Depression and anxiety have rested their ugly heads. I’m beginning to forget what life was like BTA – Before The Accident. It is hard to see the light at the end of the tunnel. Last time I tried to do more things at home I ended up back in hospital. Financially things are pretty tough.

It has been hard to find support that deals with injury and hospitalization recovery. I’m glad I have found this network. I’m interested to know how others cope or have been through similar injuries.

Reply: Struggling to Move Forward
by KatyHollis on Jan 07, 2016, 04:14PM

Hi Tori,

Thank you for sharing your story.