Trauma Survivors Network - provided by ATS

Survive. Connect. Rebuild.

A Program of the ATS

I'm a nervous wreck and feel lost and confused

I'm a nervous wreck and feel lost and confused
by Cindee on Apr 06, 2016, 01:02AM

Hello! I’m new to this survivor network and I’m sitting in front of my computer with tears falling freely as I read some of the courageous stories of other survivors. I was a passenger in a horrible accident 7 months ago. I was with a coworker in our company car heading to a conference. We just got to our freeway exit but the exit ramp was backed up (red light) so we sat in our car waiting for the light to change and for the traffic to clear. The freeway itself was clear. The next thing I knew, I heard a lot of talking and opened my eyes to find that I was in the ER. A pick-up truck hit our compact car at an estimated 65 -70 mph and pushed us into the car in front. Even though I realize that I’m luckier than most, I can’t help but feel that an important part of me died that day. I lost a lot my independence and have to rely on others to get around. I’m constantly dizzy and off balance and have difficulty walking. I lost two teeth and suffer from severe headaches and memory lost. I’m a nervous wreck and constantly feel a sense of doom. I’ve been enough of a burden to my family and friends. I feel like a prisoner in my own home. I joined the network hoping to talk to others who may feel the same way. I thank each of you for sharing those stories and admire those who remained positive. I hope that I can find a way to join you in your positive outlooks. I’ve been searching for a local support group for victims of traumatic accidents in the Los Angeles area. I have not had any luck in finding one yet. My next step is to figure out how to start a group. I know there are people nearby hurting as much as I am. Hopefully we can find a group to provide each other with emotional support.

Reply: I'm a nervous wreck and feel lost and confused