Trauma Survivors Network - provided by ATS

Survive. Connect. Rebuild.

A Program of the ATS

Pain Care Bill of Rights

These points are based on the policy developed by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO), which is the major health care standards-setting and accrediting organization in the U.S. They were developed because pain was not being measured and treated in a consistent way.

The standards call upon facilities to: 

  1. Recognize patients' rights to pain control
  2. Screen for pain
  3. Perform a complete assessment when pain is present
  4. Record the assessment in a way that facilitates regular reassessment and follow-up
  5. Set a standard for monitoring and intervention
  6. Educate providers and assure staff competency
  7. Establish policies that support appropriate prescription or ordering of pain medicines
  8. Educate patients and families
  9. Include patient needs for symptom control in discharge planning
  10. Collect data to monitor the effectiveness and appropriateness of pain management